2016 Swimmer of the Year Challenge E-mail

Purpose: To encourage local meet participation and reward the swimmers most active in LMSC sanctioned competitions.

Award: Plaques will be awarded to the overall male and female swimmers as well as to the male and female winner in each official age group.

Restrictions: Contestants must be USMS registered, within the Niagara LMSC.

Time Frame: Contest will commence on January 1, 2016 and will include all Niagara LMSC sanctioned meets during the calendar year. Any disputes will be resolved by the LMSC Board of Directors.


Winners will be determined by point totals and Overall Male and Female are eliminated from their age group (no double dipping).

Points may be accumulated as follows:


  • 5 points for each officially sanctioned Niagara LMSC meet participated in
  • 1 point for each event entered and completed (excluding relays. no points for DQ or NS)


Tie breaker: In the event that more than one swimmer in any given age group or for overall Swimmer of the Year has accumulated the same number of points, the individual that has swam the most different events and distances shall be declared the winner.

Age group details – Points will accumulate in the competitor’s age group, as determined by USMS rules. LCM/SCM competitions: age of the swimmer is their age as of Dec 31st of that year. SCY the swimmer’s age is the (first) day of the competition. On a year where a swimmer is aging up, that person would tally points in two age groups. S/he would be eligible for the overall title with combined points, but in terms of winning an age group title, the points would be split. If a swimmer has the highest point totals in two age groups, the higher of the point titles would determine which age group they win.

Check back on the website periodically to check the standings and see if you are in the running for the Niagara LMSC Swimmer of the Year. The winners will be announced on the website in early 2017, along with the date and location for the presentation of awards.


Skehan Award E-mail

Begun in 1986 after the untimely death of John Skehan (the swim coach of St. Bonaventure University and founder of SKWIM), we recognize his pioneering effors on the part of Masters swimming in the area.

He opened SKWIM in 1979 to the newly emerging Masters swimmers. His summer clinic was the first program offered nationally to Masters competitors. This was a time when there were no more than 5,000 of us nationally*. For most of us this was our first exposure to a coached workout. Coach Skehan was not only in tune with the times but he was out at the leading edge.

-George McVey (excerpt from the Jan. 1999 issue of Water Power Gazette newsletter)

*Note: As of 2014, there are over 60,000 members of USMS.

Award winners:

  • 2012 - Amy Johnson
  • 2006 - Dan Kornblatt (Dan received the USMS Dorothy Donnelly Service Award in 2015)
  • 2005 - John Pilger
  • 2000 - Bill Walter
  • 1999 - Lynn Fuller and Vern Hecker
  • 1998 - Jim Matysek
  • 1997 - Alex Goodin
  • 1994 - Lola Donner and Sue McVey
  • 1993 - Lorie Rick
  • 1991 - Kay Turner
  • 1990 - Fred Dittman
  • 1989 - Otto Dingfield
  • 1988 - Angie Sinacore
  • 1987 - George McVey (George was a 1994 recipient of the USMS National Championship Meets Award and 2012 recipient of the USMS Dorothy Donnelly Service Award)
  • 1986 - Betty Lou Gruner and Gene Donner (Gene was a 1994 recipient of the USMS National Championship Meets Award and 1997 recipient of the USMS Dorothy Donnelly Service Award)

Joomla Templates by Joomlashack